Marcio Valentim Moura and Matt Turns join the Sea Cargo Charter Steering Committee

At today’s Annual Meeting, Signatories to the Sea Cargo Charter elected two new members to the Steering Committee, a governance body that coordinates the Sea Cargo Charter Association on behalf of its members.

Geneva, 10 March 2022 – Taking place as a hybrid meeting in Geneva, the Sea Cargo Charter Association’s Annual Meeting brought together representatives from Sea Cargo Charter Signatories to take stock of the Association’s activities over the past year and align on the work to be done in the year to come. An important item on the agenda was the election of two new Steering Committee members. 

Marcio Valentim Moura, Global Logistics Director at Bunge, and Matt Turns, General Manager for Strategy & Business Performance at Chevron, were elected to the Committee, which previously consisted of 13 Signatories.

As the Sea Cargo Charter grows, I am also delighted to see the Steering Committee grow. A Steering Committee that is representative of the Signatories and the broader industry is essential to keeping the initiative true to its mission. I am happy to welcome Marcio Valentim Moura and Matt Turns and look forward to seeing the energy and knowledge they bring to the Sea Cargo Charter in the course of their two-year term,” said Jan Dieleman, President, Cargill Ocean Transportation and Chair of the Sea Cargo Charter Association.  

The Selection Committee now comprises the following 15 Signatories: 

Hans Christian Jensen and Jonathan Canaan (ADM), Peter Lye (Anglo American), Marcio Valentim Moura (Bunge), Jan Dieleman, Chair of the Sea Cargo Charter Association (Cargill Ocean Transportation), Matt Turns (Chevron), Alessio La Rosa (Cofco International), Jürgen Willemsen (Dow), Heidi Aakre (Equinor), Seb Landerretche and Martin Viquesnel (Louis Dreyfus Company), Eva Birgitte Bisgaard and Lars Sprogoe Bentzen (Mærsk Tankers), Henrik Røjel (Norden), Claire Wright, Treasurer of the Sea Cargo Charter Association, and Justine Clark (Shell), Engebret Dahm and Martin Prokosch (Torvald Klaveness), Sebastien Roche (TotalEnergies), Rasmus Bach Nielsen, Vice Chair of the Sea Cargo Charter Association (Trafigura Maritime Logistics). 

Additional information about the members of the Steering Committee is available here.

For more information, please visit   

Media contact: Tina Maver | Communications Manager | +45 3114 1634 |   

About the Sea Cargo Charter 

The Sea Cargo Charter is a framework for measuring and reporting the alignment of ship charterers’ activities with climate goals. Recognizing charterers’ role in promoting responsible environmental stewardship throughout the maritime value chain, the Sea Cargo Charter provides them with the tools to foster collaboration with shipping business partners, gain insight to enhance strategic decision-making, and address the impacts of climate change.  

The Sea Cargo Charter is built on four principles – Assessment of climate alignment, Accountability, Enforcement, and Transparency – which it shares with the Poseidon Principles for Financial Institutions and the Poseidon Principles for Marine Insurance. Established under the auspices of the Global Maritime Forum, the three initiatives aim to increase the transparency of environmental impacts within global seaborne trade, promote industry-wide change, and support a better future for the industry and society.